GFXVoid Graphic Design Forum

Remove Text Formatting
Loading...

» Online Users: 26,370

0 members and 26,370 guests
No Members online

» Site Navigation

 > FAQ

» Stats

Members: 35,442
Threads: 103,075
Posts: 826,688
Top Poster: cc.RadillacVIII (7,429)
Welcome to our newest member, Lekelindids
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Image Mapping

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    La Habra, Cali
    Posts
    124

    Default

    Simple way to link things anywhere on the image. This is good if you want to have a navigation bar without having too many slices.

    You will need to find out the coordinates by opening Adobe and using the Info window.
    go to window > Info

    Okay here is the code.

    Add this before the Image code.

    Code:
    <MAP name='mapname'>
     * * * * <area shape='rect' coords='topleft,corner,lowerright,corner' href='src.htm' target='_new'>
     * * * * <area shape='rect' coords='topleft,corner,lowerright,corner' href='src.htm'>
     * * * * <area shape='rect' coords='topleft,corner,lowerright,corner' href='src.htm'>
     * * * * </MAP>
    topleft,corner = x,y
    lowerright,corner= x,y

    dont use spaces to seperate them.
    Note: Only use the target code if you plan on directing that link to a frame.

    Next comes the image that will be used with this map.

    Code:
    <img src='image.jpg' width='size' height='size' usemap='#mapname'>
    It is important that you put the # before the map name. If it doesn't have it, it wont work. also make sure the width and height of the image are exact, this makes it easier for the mapping to work. Another thing, capitalization does matter. so MapName is not the same as mapname.

    Let me know how you like it ! (= or if something isn't right let me know also !

    Edit: Finally worked on an example, Hopefully crofty doesn't mind me using his render for this example.
    Example

    -sh4d0w

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    377

    Default

    I might have to start using image maps more. I like the way it turned out, loading everything at the same time and not piece by piece.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    La Habra, Cali
    Posts
    124

    Default

    Originally posted by pbguy434@Mar 1 2005, 02:21 PM
    I might have to start using image maps more.* I like the way it turned out, loading everything at the same time and not piece by piece.
    [snapback]12064[/snapback]
    I'm glad you liked it! I'll be posting more useful tuts later!
    -sh4d0w

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Netherlands, Roosendaal
    Posts
    42

    Default

    You can use Imageready too right ? Works the same way ( in HTML codes )

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    La Habra, Cali
    Posts
    124

    Default

    Originally posted by Sugar@Mar 6 2005, 05:10 AM
    You can use Imageready too right ? Works the same way ( in HTML codes )
    [snapback]14380[/snapback]
    I dont know. I do all the coding myself. I dont use programs to help me \= but I wouldn't use a program to help. because if at a later time there is a problem with the coding I know where the problem lies, as to when it's made for me, i have to look through everything just to find the problem.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    22

    Default

    For image maps with complex polygonal shapes (say a map of the US with each state as a hot region), a program like ImageReady can help you determine the map coordinates much faster and more accurately.

    dmeister

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    377

    Default

    You will need to find out the coordinates by opening Adobe and using the Info window.
    go to window > Info
    Yea, he said that.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    22

    Default

    Yea, he said that
    Are you addressing anyone in particular?

    dmeister

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    377

    Default

    The above poster . Reffering to:

    For image maps with complex polygonal shapes (say a map of the US with each state as a hot region), a program like ImageReady can help you determine the map coordinates much faster and more accurately.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    22

    Default

    Yea, he said that.
    Actually, what he said was to use the Info window in Photoshop to determine the basic coordinates of a simple rectangular image map slice.

    Sugar then asked:

    "You can use Imageready too right ?"

    To which the response was:

    "I dont know. I do all the coding myself. I dont use programs to help me \= but I wouldn't use a program to help"

    To which I replied that using the image map features of a program like ImageReady is considerably easier, more accurate, and more efficient for creating image maps with complex polygonal shapes. That is to say, while "Adobe Info Window" may be fine for simple rectangular image map slices, it is would be a painstaking process to compute and generate the image map code for a map with complex shapes (a map of the US, for example).

    dmeister

Similar Threads

  1. self image
    By Krimsyn in forum Digital Art
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-28-2005, 09:59 AM
  2. cut 3 image in this same way
    By remik09 in forum Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-13-2005, 08:52 AM
  3. New Image ^^
    By robgasm in forum Digital Art
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 03-20-2005, 05:30 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v4.1.1