0 members and 6,424 guests
No Members online

» Site Navigation
» Stats
Members: 35,442
Threads: 103,075
Posts: 826,688
Top Poster: cc.RadillacVIII (7,429)
|
-
To cover what frames are for look at this quote :blink:
With frames - which divide Web pages into multiple, scrollable regions - you can present information in a more flexible and useful fashion. Each region, or frame, has several features:
* 1. It can be given an individual URL, so it can load information independent of the other frames on the page;
* 2. It can be given a NAME, allowing it to be targeted by other URLs, and;
* 3. It can resize dynamically if the user changes the window's size. (Resizing can also be disabled, ensuring a constant frame size.)
These properties offer new possibilities:
* 1. Elements that the user should always see, such as control bars, copyright notices, and title graphics can be placed in a static, individual frame. As the user navigates the site in "live" frames, the static frame's contents remain fixed, even though adjoining frames redraw.
* 2. Table of contents are more functional. One frame can contain TOC links that, when clicked, display results in an adjoining frame.
* 3. Frames side-by-side design allows queries to be posed and answered on the same page, with one frame holding the query form, and the other presenting the results.
Frames have been submitted to the Internet Engineering Task Force and the World Wide Web Consortium for consideration as Internet standards.
Yes, I know my HTML Kung Fu
The no frame tag.
Some browsers don't know frames so that's why you have the <NOFRAMES> tag. If your user has a browser that doesn't support frames, always make a noframed version .
Frames.
The frames act as a body, so
So the code should be like this:
Code:
<HTML>
<HEAD>
<TITLE>Testing</TITLE>
</HEAD>
<!--I use capitals for the tags so you can see it more clearly;)-->
<FRAMESET ROWS"75%, *" COLS="*, 40%">
<FRAME SRC="whereeveryourframefileis1.html">
<FRAME SRC="whereeveryourframefileis2.html">
<FRAME SRC="whereeveryourframefileis3.html">
<FRAME SRC="whereeveryourframefileis4.html">
<NOFRAMES>
<P>Sorry, but it appears that your browser doesn't support frames.</P>
</NOFRAMES>
</FRAMESET>
</HTML>
You should tweak the settings and there you have it, frames. The wonderful world of frames. I don't use frames but I did try this out. Hope I helped 
I could've wrote more but My hands are tired
-
so its like a more orginized way of img links? lmao
Creator of the GFXvoid Header......................................Retired GFXvoid Staff.
Currently: Never Here
-
No, it's so when you make a new page you don't have to do everything all over again, you can use frames! (Or make a file called template then use it and save it as something else like I do :P)
-
it also saves on load time. for instance, if you have a banner that takes a while to load, you can give it its own frame and that way it only has to load one time throughout the entire visit.
-
whoaa thats nice, sweet thanx for the tut.
If you want help...
Screw you
If you make sigs...
Screw you
-
-
No problem
-
thanx for the code, that took me ages to find!
Similar Threads
-
By Nightfire in forum Digital Art
Replies: 4
Last Post: 06-13-2006, 07:11 AM
-
By Nadroj~ in forum The Void
Replies: 10
Last Post: 06-13-2005, 07:03 PM
-
By Invision in forum The Void
Replies: 3
Last Post: 04-25-2005, 08:06 AM
-
By sh4d0w in forum Other Tutorials
Replies: 7
Last Post: 03-03-2005, 10:28 PM
Posting Permissions
- You may not post new threads
- You may not post replies
- You may not post attachments
- You may not edit your posts
-
Forum Rules
|