» Site Navigation

> FAQ

» Stats

Members: 35,443
Threads: 103,072
Top Poster: cc.RadillacVIII (7,429)
Welcome to our newest member, Lekelindids
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Okay, first of all, this is my first time write'n up a Tut, so bear with me, as it can only be so good :unsure:

This tut is over how to make the background of my sig...so you can see it in use

Anyway, here goes nothin'

Start out with a new file the file needs to be wider than it is tall for this to work right.
    Mine is 400x100.

Make sure your colors are set to default (blank and white) and select the gradiant tool.
    select the diamond gradiant, and select the inverse option and make yourself a nice diamond like this:

Then go to Filter > Styalize > Extrude. set options to: Pyramids, 20 size, 40 depth, select level based, and make sure that "mask incomplete blocks" is unchecked.
    You should get something similar to this:

Next select Filter > Brush Strokes > Accented Edges. Set width 2, brightness 38, smooth 5.

Then select Filter > Artistic > Poster Edges. Adjust settings to 2 thickness, 1 intensity, 2posterazation.

Filter > Distort > Polar Coordinate is next. Select Rectangular to Polar.

Next go to Image > Rotate Canvas > 90cw
    And then go to Filter > Stylize > Wind. Select the "From the Left" option.
    Repeat this step once, to extend the wind effect.
    Go back to Image > Rotate Canvas > 90ccw

You should have something like this now:

Apply the same wind effect once more, then apply the wind effect with the "From the Right" option selected. You should get someting like this:

Duplicate the layer.

Select the top layer, and then: Edit > Transform > Rotate 180. The top layer should now be upside down. Set the top layers blending mode to: Difference

Merge these two layers by going to Layer > Merge Down.

Next add color to the image: Image > Adjustments > Hue / Saturation, select the "Colorize" option. I used these settings: Hue=223 Saturation=100 Brightness=0