> FAQ

» Stats

Members: 35,443
Threads: 103,072
Top Poster: cc.RadillacVIII (7,429)
Welcome to our newest member, Lekelindids
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default i want critisicm

ok so this is my first ever signature. i m a complete newb at photoshop and i know it isnt nearly as good as things you guys would make. please be as strict as possible so i can learn from my mistakes. i know i need c4D's in it but idk how to put them in good or changing the colors of them, so putting that into your comments would be good too. anyway, anything that can help me become better at making sigs is wanted. be completely honest. follow the link to the sig

http://img638.imageshack.us/img638/2760/ace17sig.jpg

Chris

first of save it as a PNG, it will not lower the quality. and don't use text because you just started.

Not a bad first attempt I suggest you read a lot of tutorials, try to find tutorials that cover basics like lighting/depth/blending. It looks like your render is a bit squished(?) when resizing it make sure to hold the shift key so it keeps its proportions. Gradient maps are a good way to colour your signatures. Last but not least I suggest not to use spiderman/venom renders as they are whored by the entire gfx community

hahah ok. yea it is squished. gradient maps? care to explain a little further? yea i thought i would start off with something that the whole community is familiar with, spiderman, so that i can get a good start on some things. ill be sure to read every tutorial. any ideas on how to incorporate C4D and stuff into it?

Gradient maps are awsome I never really found a tutorial for them tho... They're kinda like a gradient that you place over your image. By experimenting with different layer modes and opacities they can improve blending/colouring by a lot. You can give it a try by going to the layers tab at the top of the page. Next go to new adjustment layer and pick gradient map(I think, on iPod ATM so can't check. Good luck!